About Lok Sabha Election 2014

The Lok Sabha Elections 2014 or the Indian General Election 2014 are scheduled to take place from 7 April to 12 May 2014 to constitute the 16th Lok Sabha in India.

The election will take place in nine phases where in voting will take place in all the 543 parliamentary constituencies of India to elect Members of Parliament in the Lok Sabha.

With an electorate of 814.5 million (larger than the electorate of the European Union and United States combined), it will be the largest democratic election in the world to date.

This also will be the longest and the costliest general election in the history of the country, The Election Commission has estimated that the 2014 Lok Sabha elections will cost the exchequer Rs 3,500 crore. This figure does not include the expenses incurred for security and the amount political parties will spend.

The current 15th Lok Sabha will complete its constitutional term on 31 May 2014.

The result of 2014 Lok Sabha Elections will be declared on 16 May 2014.

The main contest would be between National Democratic Alliance (NDA), United Progressive Alliance (UPA) and the Third Front.

However this election is believed to be Narendra Modi v/s Rahul Gandhi fight.

272+ is the magical figure is what all political parties would be eyeing for in order to form the government.

Lok Sabha Election 2014 Schedule Map

Also Read : Schedule of 2014 Lok Sabha Elections